Pen the Dream Along With Me (Part Seven)

SeaColors

 ” My life as I had lived it had often seemed to me like a story that has no beginning and no end.  I had the feeling that I was a historical fragment, an excerpt for which the preceding and succeeding text was missing.  My life  seemed to have been snipped out of a long chain of events, and many questions had remained unanswered.”

Carl Gustav Jung

 
 
I must confess, I’ve confused myself totally.   In the process I set out to do initially to record my process on writing this poem, I realized I have fallen behind.  
 
That being said, in this post I’ll just include my thoughts on these last six parts of the poem that I completed in the past six days.  As stated in an earlier post, it’s rather difficult constructing a poem backwards.  While I have been working with notes collected from various journals and jottings collected along the way, it’s difficult to have already written the end of the poem without knowing exactly where the launch began. 
 
Since I’ve also been working on an art/fiction project, I rediscovered Jung again a few days ago and that connection seems to clarify the beginning of this poem for me which in this case will be simultaneously the ending.  You’ll just have to trust me that I think I’ve worked this out. 
 
Some of my thoughts on the poem thoughts:
  • In dreams,upon this darkened, shadowed stage,our characters murmur/ speak in unscripted dialogue. We clutch at passing words. Part 12

The dream state finds you oftentimes in unfamiliar territory where many characters appear in shadow or in voices only.  An image remains in shadow, fades.  Sometimes it’s as if you’re an observer while at other times you participate or try to participate actively.  I like the word “unscripted” and “clutch.”  I’m not sure if murmur is the correct choice as it seems too weak.    Clutch, in fact, is one of my favorite words as I use it often.

  • From what sequel are we lifted? What incomplete epic etched by hand/ illegible now? What fragments of unposted letters remain? Part 11

This alludes to past life possibilities.  Haven’t we been here before, done that?  Often dreams have a deja vu feel to them.  Or do we get that deja vu feeling because we’ve had a dream that we don’t remember? The uposted letter is linked to the last line – which was the first line I posted at the beginning of April.   I liked reading Jung’s account which I included above.  I seemed to have forgotten what little I recall of Jung.   What would we do without google?  

  • Something afire? Eyes? A metaphor you cannot forget.Those eyes.What disquiet haunts you now?/Mayflies rise from an untold deep P10

I really have little clue what afire/eyes would mean.  Trying to tie something into the mayflies which I really want to do as the metaphor they represent is unique.  Those mayflies really know how to accomplish something in a short amount of time!  And they trust so much in the fluidity of water for the next generation.  I just love things that happen in nature that make little sense to man.   And I like that mayflies  don’t even take time to eat.  Those little mayflies are quite something.  I like the words disquiet and haunts.  I like cicadas, too, even though I don’t use that word anymore, of course, except when I need to use it as in explaining that I don’t use it. 

  • No one lolls there-the door faintly agape-no footsteps fell. And yet there was some thing/A flare? An orb? A re- kindled star? P9

I like “lolls,” “agape,” “orb,” and “star.”  The star is in reference to Wordsworth’s:

“Our birth is but a sleep and a forgetting; /The Soul that rises with us, our life’s Star,/ Hath had elsewhere its setting./ And cometh from afar.”

Some poetry lines just get imbedded in your psyche so deeply, they show up whether you invited them or not.  It’s amazing what grey matter clasps on to.  Why I cannot remember anyone’s birthday is beyond me, but this line, I know.  I like words like “Hath” and “cometh.”  I hath never used them, but there may cometh a time when I shall.

  • Awake. He huddles in bluest light where slumber and finite shadows fade. But it is a dream, you re-assure yourself. Wake me Part 8

In Part 8, I’m really emphasizing blue as I’ve stated earlier.  There must be something to this blueness because even Jung refers to it.   I don’t want any he/she pronouns in this poem when I finish and meant to catch “he.”   Twitter is difficult to squeeze the line into sometimes as I handwrite first and then type.  I just didn’t catch this “he” reference.  In the finished poem it will probably be – Awake, huddles in…  Of course, I like “finite shadows fade,” the best as that seems like it’s not quite possible as shadows cannot be that finite as they are not substantive; and if they were finite, they shouldn’t fade. 

  • A face a name you no longer recall/As if a stranger expectant long ago fled,stands now just outside the mirrored door. Shudders Part 7

Reference again to dream state where you just can’t recall everything.   Could it be that this was really someone you knew from a previous time?   I need to work on the transistion between 7 and 8 as Shudders  Awake makes little sense.  I like the word “expectant” and “mirrored door.”   I’m always fascinated by any reference to a doppelganger effect even if it just a mirrored image. 

I’m posting two tweets today in Twitter as yesterday was just one of those days!  I hope to finish up by Saturday without skipping another day.  Hope you’re writing. 

3 thoughts on “Pen the Dream Along With Me (Part Seven)

Post your thoughts here...

