Pen the Dream Along with Me (Part Eight)

Enhanced photo of cypress trees in Sussex County

          I just found the line “she awakes in the dawn and remembers.”    I wish I had written that. Noyes did.

 

      My poem for National Poetry Month grinds along.  I decided to make a little chapbook using my twitter poem as the key piece.  I’ve worked out the form using a template in Lulu, one of those POD companies.  And then,  I found a wonderful poem by Alfred Noyes – a poet I’ve never read – well let’s say I don’t remember reading him before.  And I guess, it’s more accurate to state that the poem found me.  And contained in that poem the line above magically spoke to me.  Things became much clearer.
 
     The Poetry Foundation will send you a poem a day so be sure to check their complete revised site out if you haven’t already done so.  Noyes’s poem, “At Dawn,” showed up the other day.  I wish I had read it sooner as it utilizes the mythology of Hesper-Phosphor – explores the “oneness” of our brightest star, Venus.  Which led me further to Tennyson’s use of Hesper-Phosphor  “In Memoriam.” 
 
     Well, before I knew it I was lost for hours deciphering myths and poems from all over the net.   Even reading some Ovid again.   Why does so much get back to him?  I try to like him, but I still just can’t.  And then I opened the complete cummings and well, things became much clearer. 
 
     I think writers have a tendency to make this a lot harder than it needs to be.  Reading is often the spark of creativity that our  imagination needs.  The universe, as I keep learning, works with us when we aren’t so insistent on trying to always do things our way. 
 
     So with the help of my new-found friend, Alfred and a sprinkling of e e cummings, I’ve worked out a concept for my chapbook.  The book will have four poems total.  The chapter titles (which it really doesn’t need but I love the template design) is based on four lines of cummings.
  • Chapter 1 – speaking of love
  • Chapter 2 – (of which
  • Chapter 3 – Who knows the meaning;
  • Chapter 4 – or how dreaming becomes

The longest poem is the thirty parts of the Twitter poem and is Chapter 4.  The tweets are being reworked into seven line stanzas and each numbered with roman numerals.  If you recall,  tweets can be no longer than 140 characters, but I’m not restricted now.  The different parts are grouped on pages according to a sort of predetermined template design supplied by Lulu.  The subtitles of each section of “or how dreaming becomes” is based on a few lines in Noyes’s poem.  Those titles are tentatively:

  • Awakes in the Dawn
  • and remembers
  • Old Loves
  • Old Lovers
  • Wonderful
  • and unnumbered
  • as waves on
  • a wine-darkened sea

Last month I was working on the art/poetry project and had a lot of fun putting together a story book in an altered art sort of way – literally cutting and pasting the old-fashioned way.  It’s not been scanned onto the site yet, but you can check it out and follow me if you want so you can click on the link.  It was lots of fun pulling together all the bits and pieces.   Doing this chapbook is similar except all the cutting and pasting has to be done on the computer template.  This is not as much fun I can assure you, but I’ll share more as I work this out. 

Right now, I have to finish two paintings and pack for a trip to the southwest plus a million other details.  Hope you’re writing, creating.  Remember, it’s up to each of us to make sure it matters that we were born.  No one else can make that contribution for you.   Cheers.  

       
Post your thoughts here...

