A Review of Heidi Julavits’s The Folded Clock: A Diary

I facilitate a small writing group and each month we explore a different theme. October’a theme is “Time” and all that it conjures.

Two texts I use are recent purchases of Upstream by Mary Oliver and Ongoingness by Sarah Mangusco. I’m adding this title to my wish list as this review of Julavit’s book adds yet another wrinkle to the time cloak that encompasses us all. Happy reading and happy writing… Taylor

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

zz-foldedBy Courtney Ruttenbur Bulsiewicz

I came across some of my deceased father’s clothing while getting ready to move last month: a Hawaiian shirt I bought him when I visited Oahu and some old military fatigues.

When I was going through his house after he died, about a decade ago, these clothes seemed the perfect objects to hold onto. I could wear them and feel like he was hugging me, or remember what he looked like, or maybe just smell the collars and hope his scent still lingered. But the clothing has sat unworn all this time. I looked at the small stack a long while, trying to decide what to do: keep or discard? The clothes don’t hold his smell anymore, just the scent of dust. I have other, more practical and meaningful things: pictures, pens, jewelry, blankets. But how can I throw anything away when things are all I…

View original post 584 more words

Post your thoughts here...

